New Patient

Moderator: Steering Committee

Bagpuss

New Patient

Post by Bagpuss » 22 Feb 2012 14:59

My name is Roger, 65 year old male diagnosed MDS last Wednesday 15th February and still reeling with shock. Not yet sure what sub group in but mind whirring and very anxious. Spoke to Sophie last week and she is sending me more information. Spoke to my support nurse today who has said that application for funding for Azacytadine is being made.

I live in Sandhurst Berkshire and would like to know if any other patients live near the area. Would welcome support from anywhere.

Roger
Jayne

Re: New Patient

Post by Jayne » 22 Feb 2012 22:10

Hi Roger

Welcome, you will find this site of enormous support. I'm a Yorkshire lass so not the right area I'm afraid, and I am rubbish at remembering where everyone is from but I have a feeling that there is a group that meets near you. Someone will post the correct info.

I would like to post something of more support but I'm also not an expert re Azacytadine, but I have seen lots of posts on here with regards to it's success. Maybe have a bit of a look around the site and search for it.

So, it's just a warm welcome from me!

Jayne
Jayne
Feb 2011 MDS RCMD. Jan 2012 RAEB.
Feb 2012 - 2 lots of chemo each 4-6 weeks in hospital to destroy leukaemic cells resulting in remission from AML.
July 6 2012 - Stem cell transplant
Doing very well, feel great
Age 43.
janetstanford

Post by janetstanford » 23 Feb 2012 00:16

Welcome Roger

Same as Jayne i live a bit further north than her and i am no expert as she says have a look on site regional meetings may be a good 1 and i would say give sophie a call or e-mail she will be able to give you info on both subjects :)

well again welcome to the site hope you will join in and post we do not mind
take care Janet :)
Bagpuss

Post by Bagpuss » 23 Feb 2012 09:44

Thank you for your replies and advice Janet and Jayne. Early days for me yet!!

Roger
Sheldon

Post by Sheldon » 23 Feb 2012 13:46