Refusal of Iron chelation therapy

Moderator: Steering Committee

carolib

Refusal of Iron chelation therapy

Post by carolib » 07 Jul 2011 10:39

Hi.
I am new to the MDS forums. My 84 year old mother was diagnosed in January and is transfusion dependant ( 1 - 2 units every 2 weeks). Her consultant has informed us that she is not suitable for treatment for Iron overload due to her other medical problems - she has chronic kidney disease, heart problems and other minor ailments. We were told that as the iron overload treatment is very toxic her body would not cope, has any one else encountered this?
Since October 2010 she has had received 22units of packed red cells which according to information on this and other sites means we must be getting close to iron overload.
Can any one help with the signs we need to watch out for? When I enquired what would happen when iron overload was reached I was told they will just continue with the transfusions as she can't survive without them. She has been started on a course of Epo injections with the hope of reducing the need for so many transfusions but to date it has made no difference.
Thanks for reading this.
Hope someone can help with information

Regards
Carol
janetstanford

Re: Refusal of Iron chelation therapy

Post by janetstanford » 07 Jul 2011 16:17

HI Carol
a scarey situation to be in the stress and worry must be hard to deal with...i am transfusion dependent and ihave iron overload .... been on exjade daily since feb 2009 at that point my iron stood at 6000+ (what is your mams ) i also had epo injections which did not work..i started on 1gm daily and worked up to 2gms it is normally given by weight but due to results and how good they are it is proving safer to give an increased dose... i recieve 2/3 units of blood every 3/4 weeks and ....l had a further reduction in iron last qrt it stands at 1900... i know normal levels are 200-400 a bit further to go ....doctor says have to get to under a 1000....