AML 18 – Clinical Trial Open to Recruitment

Research FOR Patients
-For an informed and empowered opinion-

All the trials listed on our site have been properly vetted for scientific accuracy. Many thanks to Dr Simone Green – Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust - for the continuous work in updating the listing.

AML 18

    1. SUB-TYPE OF MDS: MDS with 10% or more bone marrow blasts; also acute myeloid leukaemia
    2. SEVERITY OF MDS: Intermediate – 2 or High Risk
    3. NAME OF DRUG: Mylotarg, AC220 (a novel drug that blocks the action of a gene – FLT3, which is important in the growth of blood cells
  1. Aims and benefits: This trial is designed for patients over 60 years considered fit for intensive chemotherapy. It aims to answer several therapeutic questions.
    • To determine if a new dosing schedule of Mylotarg (two doses) is better than the current standard of a single dose.
      Does adding AC220 improve outcomes.
    • Is monitoring minimal residual disease (MRD) after completing course 1 of chemotherapy (by regular bone marrow biopsies) of clinical value.
    • To compare the effectiveness of two different chemotherapy regimens (Daunorubicin + high dose Cytarabine vs Intermediate dose Cytarabine) when used as course 3 of chemotherapy.
    • To assess the value of a reduced intensity allogeneic stem cell transplant in maintaining remission.
  2. Basic inclusion criteria:
    • Acute myeloid leukaemia (excluding acute promyelocytic leukaemia) or high risk Myelodysplastic Syndrome (>10% bone marrow blasts)
    • Over the age of 60, but patients under this age are eligible if they are not considered eligible for the AML 19 trial
    • Suitable for intensive chemotherapy
    • Adequate kidney function
  3. Basic exclusion criteria:
    • Patients who previously received demethylation treatment (eg. Azacitidine) for high risk MDS (>10% blasts)
      Previous chemotherapy for acute myeloid leukaemia
    • Concurrent active malignancy excluding basal cell carcinoma
    • Pregnant or lactating
    • Known infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
  4. Trial sites/locations and name of physician in charge of trial: 
    • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
    • Blackpool Victoria Hospital
    • Derriford Hospital (Plymouth Hospital)
    • Ninewells Hospital
    • Poole General Hospital
    • Queen Alexandra Hospital (Portsmouth)
    • St Helier Hospital
    • University College London Hospital
    • University Hospital of Wales
    • NHS Lanarkshire (Monklands, Wishaw and Hairmyres Hospital)
    • Christie Hospital
    • Stafford Hospital
    • Nottingham
    • Royal Free Hospital
    • Raigmore Hospital
    • Russells Hall Hospital
    • New Victoria Hospital
    • Victoria Hospital (Kirkcaldy)
    • Birmingham Heartland Hospital
    • Salisbury District Hospital
    • Kettering General Hospital
    • Bristol Haematology & Oncology Centre
    • Crosshouse Hospital (Ayrshire and Arran Health Board)
    • Ayr Hospital (Ayrshire and Arran Health Board)
    • Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital
    • Beatson General Hospital (Gartnavel General Hospital)
    • Manchester Royal Infirmary
    • Hillingdon Hospital
    • Torbay District General Hospital
    • Lincoln County Hospital
    • Salford Royal Hospital
    • Western General Hospital
    • Royal Bournemouth General Hospital
    • Royal Cornwall Hospital (Treliske)
    • Aintree University Hospital
    • Ysbyty Gwynedd Hospital
    • Queen's Hospital, Romford
    • Ysbyty Glan Clwyd
    • Arrowe Park Hospital (Wirral)
    • Royal Liverpool University Hospital
    • Musgrove Park Hospital (Taunton & Somerset Hospital)
    • Southampton General Hospital
    • Rigshospitalet University Hospital
    • Roskilde Hospital
    • Countess Of Chester Hospital
    • Aalborg Hospital
    • Herlev University Hospital
    • Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust (St James)
    • University Hospital Odense
    • Royal Stoke University Hospital
    • Castle Hill Hospital
    • University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire (UHCW, Coventry)
    • Cheltenham General Hospital
    • Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital
    • Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
    • Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
    • Great Western Hospital
    • Leicester Royal Infirmary
    • Aarhus University Hospital
    • Churchill Hospital
    • Freeman Hospital
    • Whiston Hospital & St Helens
    • Addenbrooke's Hospital
    • St Bartholomew's Hospital
    • Royal Marsden
    • Bradford Royal Infirmary
    • Guy's Hospital
    • James Cook University Hospital
    • Milton Keynes University Hospital
    • Singleton Hospital
  5. More information:

Please read information and always discuss trial information with your own physician.

Free donations by shopping