Newly Diagnosed

Moderator: Steering Committee

clareybabs

Newly Diagnosed

Post by clareybabs » 05 Jan 2013 23:44

Hi there my name is claire, i'm a 42year old nurse and in the last 8 weeks my life has turned upside down.

About end of september whilst on holiday, i started having chest pain and shortness of breath on slight exertion - mainly in slight inclines, didn't think anything of it, just put it down to being unfit. Anyway when went back to work, noticed when walking down or up one flight of stairs - was getting the pain and shortness of breath again, this continued until 5th november when i got my bloods checked by Gp as shortness of breath was getting worse, and was having other symptoms of shivering - with no temperature and a fast heart rate of 150 beats per minute.

got phone call from GP - that HB was 4.0 - went to hospital next day - transfused 4 units and had bone marrow biopsy and aspiration. Was in hospital for a week, during this time found out i was neutropenic, as wcc was 2.2 and neutrophils 0.9, platelets were 53. Had a further 2 units of blood and HB on discharge was 12

On 27/11/12 was diagnosed with MDS - and told they were going to treat aggressively with BMT
On 17/12/11 - met up with professor jackson at newcastle freemans and was officially diagnosed with MDS - (RAEB form with poor cytogenetics with monosomy 7 and an extra X chromosome.
Was informed poor prognosis, if don't recieve BMT will have a 100% mortality rate - will die within 1-2 years.

I was tissue typed while i was at newcastle and as i have one brother he had bloods taken whilst home for christmas, i am aware that the probability of him being a match is only 25% match - but i am hoping and praying.

I've been feeling okay, just general aches and pains, shortness of breath and cold - when HB drops. I've had a further 4 units of blood - so 10 in total since beg of nov.